Login    
   Windows Server to Workstation
   Convert Windows Server 2008/2008-R2/2012/2012-R2 & WS2016 to a Workstation !
    Register FAQ  •  Search    
It is currently 23 Sep 2017, 06:35

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: BDA (TV Tuner) support for Server 2008 x86 and x64
PostPosted: 29 May 2008, 18:33 
Offline
Win2008Workstation Member
Win2008Workstation Member

Joined: 01 May 2008, 18:28
Posts: 50
3 STEPS ONLY TO GET BDA ON SERVER (TV TUNER FUNCTION)
I compiled a setup file, that will add BDA (TV Tuner) function on Server 2008 x86 and x64, without any hassles.
I tested it on a clean installation several times, no issues at all

Changelog
Quote:
07/09/08
-No more devices found error
-Minor bda.inf tweaks
-No need to reboot after installing now
22/06/08
-Fixed a MAJOR bug which prevented the installer from not installing BDA on server
-Updated BDA Installer files with latest DirectX 9 Redist June
03/06/08
-Fixed x64 Directory source file copy error (BDA was not working on x64 systems due to source files not being copied to the right directory)
-Now installer uses x64 version of "regsvr32.exe" to register x64 source files, and x86 version of "regsvr32.exe" to register x86 source files
29/05/08
-Added x64 support
-Made corrections to x86 installer
-Added more filters that were missing from previous installer pack
-Fixed "kxsbar.ax, kstvtune.ax invalid errors

Tested on 7 different x86 and x64 machines, all with different TV Cards, all worked fine

Download link
Code:
http://rapidshare.com/files/260247283/bdaforserver.rar

Instructions
Instructions on how to install are inside the setup archive

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
IMPORTANT
This setup pack will work on English version of server, en-US versions only.
If you have any other language version then you have to manually copy ONLY
the "mui" files from vista to source\x86 or x64(for x64 version)\system32 and syswow64 if your on x64 version
Then on server same again, manually copy the "mui" files to system32 and syswow64 as well only
if your on x64 version of server, and then run the setupBDA.exe to install.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

NOTE
EVEN THOUGH THESE FILES DONT TOUCH MAIN SYSTEM CRITICAL FILES OR SETTINGS, AM NOT RESPONSIBLE
FOR ANY DATA LOSS OR DAMAGE, USE THIS METHOD AT YOUR OWN RISK.


Original link here:
http://www.msfn.org/board/BDA-Tv-tuner- ... 14549.html


Last edited by shahed26 on 26 Jul 2009, 15:27, edited 1 time in total.

 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: TV Application
PostPosted: 30 May 2008, 05:29 
Offline

Joined: 15 May 2008, 06:09
Posts: 6
Thanks, but sadly I need the Vista files. I have no access to a copy of Vista.


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: TV Application
PostPosted: 10 Jun 2008, 17:08 
Offline
Win2008Workstation Expert
Win2008Workstation Expert
User avatar

Joined: 09 Jun 2008, 15:21
Posts: 124
Have you tested the winamp tv plugin ? I cant tested right now, but it worked great on vista with Theatrix 550!


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: TV Application
PostPosted: 10 Jun 2008, 18:02 
Offline
Win2008Workstation Member
Win2008Workstation Member

Joined: 01 May 2008, 18:28
Posts: 50
sawo wrote:
Have you tested the winamp tv plugin ? I cant tested right now, but it worked great on vista with Theatrix 550!

nice find, but can you actually use this plugin without winamp, and use it with other tv applications? Were talking about server 2008 tv support here, it works on vista, but server 2008 is a different story.
anyways i will test it and will let you know.
Thank you


Last edited by shahed26 on 10 Jun 2008, 23:10, edited 1 time in total.

 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: TV Application
PostPosted: 10 Jun 2008, 22:56 
Offline
Win2008Workstation Expert
Win2008Workstation Expert
User avatar

Joined: 09 Jun 2008, 15:21
Posts: 124
Since its winamp plugin, you need winamp to get it running.Ofcourse you can try to port it for other apps too, because its open source.
After the plugin scan for channels it will display them in winamp and you can save them as simple playlist and load them at any time.It also supports recording with hardware encoding, if the tv tuner support it, it works with dvb cards etc etc.
I cant test it right now, but if you really need a way to watch tv, then you can give it a try.
Also dont forget to configure the plugin properly - it will need proper filters to render the audio and video - in my case i installed Power DVD 7 and its filters was available in the options.


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: TV Application
PostPosted: 10 Jun 2008, 23:09 
Offline
Win2008Workstation Member
Win2008Workstation Member

Joined: 01 May 2008, 18:28
Posts: 50
sawo wrote:
Since its winamp plugin, you need winamp to get it running.Ofcourse you can try to port it for other apps too, because its open source.
After the plugin scan for channels it will display them in winamp and you can save them as simple playlist and load them at any time.It also supports recording with hardware encoding, if the tv tuner support it, it works with dvb cards etc etc.
I cant test it right now, but if you really need a way to watch tv, then you can give it a try.
Also dont forget to configure the plugin properly - it will need proper filters to render the audio and video - in my case i installed Power DVD 7 and its filters was available in the options.


Sounds interesting, i will test sometime soon. and will let you know....
thanks


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: TV Application
PostPosted: 10 Jul 2008, 08:16 
Offline

Joined: 10 Jul 2008, 07:48
Posts: 2
Dumb question: installing BDA on WS2008 makes Fujitsu-Siemens DVB/T-Analog USB to work?


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: TV Application
PostPosted: 10 Jul 2008, 15:08 
Offline
Win2008Workstation Member
Win2008Workstation Member

Joined: 01 May 2008, 18:28
Posts: 50
Yull wrote:
Dumb question: installing BDA on WS2008 makes Fujitsu-Siemens DVB/T-Analog USB to work?

Am not really sure about analogue tv, but digital tv works. You can try installing my current pack to see if your analogue works

Link:
http://www.msfn.org/board/BDA-Tv-tuner-support-on-Server-2008-t114549.html


 Profile  
 Post subject: Problem with (analog) SAA 7134-Tuner
PostPosted: 15 Jul 2008, 19:15 
Offline

Joined: 15 Jul 2008, 19:12
Posts: 3
Hi,

i have a problem using my SAA 7134-Tuner in analog mode. The Video works perfectly, but I have no sound. I tried DScaler 4 and ChrisTV, but both of them don't play audio. Do you have a solution for this?

Markus


 Profile  
 Post subject: Re: TV Application
PostPosted: 17 Jul 2008, 13:13 
Offline
Win2008Workstation Expert
Win2008Workstation Expert
User avatar

Joined: 09 Jun 2008, 15:21
Posts: 124
Have you setup the region settings? Also you can try the winamp plugin its alot easier to configure..


 Profile  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
phpBB skin developed by: John Olson
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
[ Time : 0.107s | 11 Queries | GZIP : Off ]